Day 15 – Into Week 3

So we have reached the beginning of week 3. The first two weeks have gone extremely well and I am still focused and determined to reach my goal. I would say that I have been lucky that I have got this far without failing but that would be a lie. It is not luck it is pure hard work. You can have anything you want in life as long as you work hard and make sacrifices. I want to be fit, happy and healthy so I am working as hard as I can to become that. It is imperative that you find ways around your lack of time and laziness, for example every week I get my fruit and veg delivered to save me from going shopping which I hate with a passion. I am not comfortable with going to the gym yet with my current weight and ability so I am building up to that by playing on the Kinect and using a fitness program. It is all about little changes that ultimately build up to make big changes. I am now in the habit of coming home and juicing straight after work which is great as I have a routine.

Work has been tough, I had a heated discussion with my boss which put me in a bad mood for the day. Usually I would have gone straight down the pub after work had a few scotches and put the world to right but this time I didn’t. I went home and started juicing. I don’t know where this extra strength and determination to succeed is coming from but it is fantastic. I think it comes down to the realization that you can be anything you want to be, you just have to make the right decisions. If I do x will it affect my goal of y? If x is going to affect y then don’t do it. It is a logical process but the difficulty is that our judgement is clouded at times by stress, peer pressure or insecurities. As long as we fight these things that impact our judgement then it is possible to be anyone that you want to be.

To everyone that is joining me on my journey and is in the same position, a mountain to climb and experiencing a heavy doubt that this mountain cannot be climbed, remember every success story started with an action. Be that action, without that action you will never succeed, don’t be afraid and manage your fears. I have a long way to go but I have visualized the end goal, I know what I want and I know what hard work is in store in order to get there but my key driver behind my journey is life. I love life and I love being David Donnelly. I want to experience as much of it as I can. If you have a moment of weakness, before you act question the decision, don’t make it instantly, take your time and analyse it. Once you do that you will have your answer and motivation. If you are still struggling with this process talk to me and let me know, maybe by talking through the process you will come to a positive conclusion and become more motivated.

love with life

7 responses to “Day 15 – Into Week 3

  1. It is all about making changes you can keep up, not just on the journey but at the journey’s end. Have you thought about getting out and walking? Might sound like walking isn’t really exercise but believe me it can be. Not just every day going for a stroll stuff but real power walking. Starting with short walks, slowly and building up speed and distance you’d be amazed what you can do and it can so easily be fit into your life. I went from hardly walking at all to walking marathons and the difference it made to my weight, my shape and my fitness is unbelievable.

    • I have started walking and stretching as well as working on some fitness programs on my xbox. I don’t want to push the gym at this point as I want to prepare my body for the shock and reduce the risk of injury. I am impressed that you managed to walk a marathon, I would love to run a marathon one day, that would be the final crowning glory!

      • I’ve walked two marathons so far (well four if you count the full marathon training walks) and am training for my next one now. Hubby is training for his first marathon run! You can do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

