Day 16 – Tired

I am not tired of the diet yet, yes I miss nice food and drink but I am maintaining my focus and trying as hard as I can to visualize the end goal. I know there is going to come a point in the near future where I do start to get bored and tired with the diet, my concern is when I reach that phase how do I cope with stress without resorting to a food binge or a bottle. Stress is a big factor in dieting, whether it is at work or in your personal life, when you start to worry you crave for comfort and one way of comfort is food. I am going to have to work out other ways in which to get comfort apart from food, maybe exercise? maybe a new hobby?

As for physically, I am constantly shattered. I go to bed early and I am still tired. When researching a juice diet, I found that I could expect an increase in my energy levels. This has not been the case and I need to have a think why. I have cut out coffee so am missing my morning pick up, has anyone got any ideas on how to replace that boost in the morning?

tired

28 responses to “Day 16 – Tired

  1. Hey! Since I am on meal replacement shakes I don’t drink coffee any more and I don’t miss it even little. About energy – for first few days I was also tired. On my 10th day I am full of energy. Try with nice cold shake meal replacement as I prefer, or try warm one. Also you can try with green tea. Some people say it has more caffeine than coffee. Also it slightly reduces appetite. Good luck!

  2. I second the green tea comment! It generally has less caffeine than coffee, but lots of health benefits. Since I cut out coffee it’s my go to morning beverage.

  3. Not sure I could do without coffee it’s my weakness along with dark chocolate. I’m not sure exactly what you’re juicing or how much of it but, as a long term solution, not eating solid food is not ideal. One thing that could be missing is protein. Your body badly needs this to build and repair muscle and as muscle burns way more calories than fat protein is pretty important. Have you thought of adding seeds to your diet, bursting with protein and energy! Also when you talk about the long term and boredom it was something I thought about when I first read your blog. I’ve tried every diet under the sun and the restrictive ones are rarely good long term, they lead to cravings and boredom. Variety, fresh foods and good portion control along with exercise is the best long term plan. Take it from me, I learned the hard way! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks for your comment Marie, my plan is to transition to a diet of lean protein and veg, focussing on continuing to burn fat at a fast pace whilst introducing harder workouts. After that I want to start introducing a small amount of carbs and see how we go from there πŸ™‚

      • Sounds like a plan! It took me a long time to lose my weight being a tortoise rather than a hare but most of the delay was down to all the fad diets I tried. Nice losses then big gains once they were over. So early to put it on, so hard to get if off πŸ™‚

  4. With juicing you may not be getting in enough nutrients. Are you logging your food? Logging will help you track your intake of your essential vitamins. I use my fitness pal. Maybe instead of juicing try blending the whole product. I feel juicing takes out a lot of the nutrients.

    • I am logging my intake, the amount of fruit and veg I consume now is so much more than before, I think my body is in nutrient overload lol

  5. Try changing your thinking. When we’re stressed, we feel out of control, this can lead to a binge then guilt because you’ve lost control further. Try this:
    Situation- stressed at work
    Urges – to go home a binge
    Set a goal to delay the binge for 20 minutes and in this time write down, the pros and cons of binging and then make the decision.
    This will help you feel in control of your own actions and take responsibility for them. Even if you do binge, remember, that’s your choice, and you can choose not to binge.
    And always say to yourself “if I binge, I will be ok, it’s not the end of the world, I will get back on track”

    • One of the key things to success is the decision making process, if like you say you can give yourself time to assess and analyze the situation before binging then you can make a more reasoned decision. At the moment I am trying to minimize the decisions I have to make, acting like a spoiled 2 year old and saying no instantly to anything that may cause me to slip. I am not giving myself time and I am instantly rejection. I can do this now because I am at the beginning of my journey however as it gets harder and results slow then I will have to execute some decision making techniques to keep me on track.

      • You can do it! Just remember, this isn’t a diet, this is a lifestyle change. It’s important that we don’t deprive ourselves either. The more we deprive ourselves, the more we think we are undeserving. We’re not, we deserve a treat every now and again πŸ˜‹

  6. Hi! I don’t drink coffee at all (maybe a blessing?!) but I am also on a weight loss journey. I have picked up on a lot of tips from reading, documentaries etc. Are you eating protein with every meal?

    What I have learned is – breakfast is your biggest meal of the day. Eat every 2-3 hours (3 meals and 2 snacks) I snack on a handful of raw almonds. Dinner – lean meat and green. No carbs after lunch.

    I am currently eating a fruit, milk and yoghurt smoothie for breakfast. Chicken breast and cucumber sandwich on brown bread for lunch (so good!) and chicken breast, lettuce and zucchini for dinner. Almonds and a small carton of milk for snacks.Lots of water. It is HARD work. I still crave bad food in the evenings (and lately have been giving in) but I lost 16 kg in 3 months with the above diet. That, and 6x 35-40 min cardio a week. It’s all in the mind – my mantra “The body achieves what the mind believes.”

    Good luck!

    • That sounds very similar to the diet that I want to transition to in the second phase of my plan. Thank you for your ideas and guidance πŸ™‚ Good luck with your journey I will be following you on it πŸ™‚

      • I have been juicing and the weight is dropping off me. I wanted to revitalize my system as it hasn’t had the required nutrients and vitamins for years as well as drop weight quickly. I then want to transition to lean meat, fruit and veg without carbs and then slowly introduce the carbs and increase protein as my workout and fitness rates increase later on.

      • The type of fruit and veg I juice depends on nutritional data, there are lots of juicing plans on the Internet that will provide you with guidance on the quality and quantity of produce that you have to consume. For example this morning I had 2 apples, 1 orange, 1 great fruit and lots of leafy greens. This evening I will have a juice with beets, celery, cabbage, cucumber, ginger, lemon, apple. Additionally I will have a fruit based juice during the day with grapes, plums, peaches etc as my base.

      • My mind is so focused that although they are beginning to seem repetitive, I have no desire to deviate from the plan to reach my goal and achieve success. If you want to find out more, drop me an email πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

