Day 39 – Work Life Balance

Since I have returned to Kazakhstan I have focused on achieving a better work life balance and treating my job for what it is – a job! Not the center of my world, not the be all and end all of everything – just a job. A way to keep myself under a roof, clothed and fed. The career drive has taken a back seat whilst I contemplate what I really want to do in life, what I want to achieve and how I am going to do it. I know that I do not want to be a corporate drone. I could be and I could be extremely successful, but it is not what I want. I am tired of working for people that I feel make the wrong decisions and do not have the skill set to motivate, lead and inspire people. So I am keeping under the radar, not challenging decisions (which is really difficult for me!) and just saying yes sir, no sir, three bags full sir. I do not do any unpaid overtime, my 10 hours a day that I am contracted to, well that is all I do. I am not getting emotionally involved and instead spending my time concentrating on me, not the company but me and I am enjoying it. I am less stressed, I feel a lot healthier and I am striving towards my goals. Achieving a good work-life balance is extremely important if you are undertaking a weight loss journey and a lifestyle revolution. It reduces stress and pressure and allows you to focus on what is important, your health, your family and ultimately your happiness.

I am flying at the minute, 39 days in and I haven’t deviate once. Focused and determined to succeed. Once you have your mind in the right place, this weight loss journey and lifestyle change process is easy. You cannot succeed until you are in the right place mentally. I would advise anyone to get that right first before you make a start. It took me two months in the wild on the Tanzania/Mozambique border to realize that and it was the best thing that I ever did.

Finding Yourself

12 responses to “Day 39 – Work Life Balance

  1. It is important you love your job but of course you cannot make it your first priority. I see people live for their job and they miss out the most beautiful things in life. There is so much to do and so little time 🙂

  2. Well said David, no person on their death bed ever regretted not spending more hours at the office!

  3. Yes, my goal in life is to maintain a good work life balance. I never want to be a corporate drone either. I want a rich, fulfilling life. It’s hard though, ya know, seeing your friends advancing, but it does not mean they are happy.

  4. I like how you changed and stepped one big step forward
    I’m at the moment “I don’t hate my job but this is not the best place I can be”. This is why I feel the same in terms of keeping balance of my work and my life. I work normal but I try best out of my free time after my work. I don’t accept myself doing overtime. I don’t wanna be workaholic ya know.
    Thank you for following my blog! I will be looking forward your story from Singapore 🙂

Leave a Reply

