Day 57 & 58 – Cravings

Everyone during their weight loss and lifestyle change process will endure cravings for food or drink that they have reduced or eliminated. Although I enjoyed a drink in the pub with my friends I haven’t really missed the alcohol, what I have been craving though is crispy aromatic duck from my local Chinese takeaway and an Indian feast from my favorite restaurant in my home town. They are pretty easy to overcome as they are located thousands of miles away from me however I have 2 bags of Haribo Tangfastic sitting in my desk drawer that keep calling out to me on a daily basis! So far I have been strong and not touched them, I should think the easy option would be to throw them out then the temptation would be removed however I look at them, think about my previous lifestyle and use them as a motivational incentive to move on, stay focused and stay on track. This of course is not an option for everyone however I feel as though I am in a positive position where I can use it to my advantage.

One of the ways that I control my cravings is to think about the set back to my progress, one of the memes that I look at when I feel the urge to stray is this one. If you cave in to your craving now and it causes you to derail, just think about where you will be in 3 months time if you don’t stray and you keep on track. It is imperative that you keep your eye on the end goal, for me when I want to satisfy a craving I envisage what I am going to do when I cross the finishing line at the marathon: raise my arms, jump and punch the air… I also think about the other things that I will be able to do once I am down to my goal weight, I’m thinking of doing a skydive in Dubai and thrashing around some super cars on a race track. Both have weight restrictions that I currently don’t satisfy, but when I do I want have any excuse not to do it. I looked at other ways in which cravings can be manged and found some good advice from the these websites:

To sum up these articles, to manage cravings it is important to avoid scenarios which trigger these cravings (which is why I avoid the pub!) and distract yourself with other activities (I go for a run or walk). Additionally it is imperative to have a strategic plan in place to control these cravings through lifestyle management with specific focus on stress and sleep. Stress management is such an important factor as emotions play a huge role in the decision making process. If your decision making abilities are clouded then this affects your judgement and ultimately success. Rest and getting the required amount of sleep each night is tough in our busy lives but it is something that I am working hard on and it does help as you feel better and on the top of your game. I would say that I average 6 hours sleep a night, I would like to extend this to 8 but at this moment in time there doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day!

How do you manage your cravings and keep yourself on the path of weight loss and lifestyle change, and ultimately your ability to achieve the feeling of success. Share with your friends and see what they think 🙂

The Feeling of Success - Daily Diary - Haribo

26 responses to “Day 57 & 58 – Cravings

  1. Cravings are the worst. For me it is anything with cheese. I love cheese! However, I am determined to lose all of the weight that I set out to lose so I have eliminated 95% of my cheese (I used to put it on everything).

    • I love cheese! Cheese and red wine with friends and a good movie! It is very easy not only to put cheese on everything but also to go to the fridge, chop a chunk off and throw it in your mouth…

  2. Hi! I scrolled through your blog and I really enjoyed it! I love how you use memes and pictures; they really add to your posts! I also wanted to say that your story is a very inspiring one. You set a goal and you are doing whatever it takes to become a healthier, better you. You should be so proud of the progress you have made so far, and the progress that you are making each day. Keep up the good work! I’m rooting for you! 🙂

  3. Really useful and also good to know someone else is going through cravings! You can keep your Haribos (not my poison!) but as a Day 2 Paleo I am actually sniffing bread!! I didn’t even eat much before, so I have no idea why I feel this way!! Your words (and picture) help – I will think of that woman’s waist when the next craving strikes 🙂

  4. You’re right on the mark about cravings. I’m a caffeine addict. Sometimes I do beat the craving but eventually lapse back because of the environment. I’m surrounded by coffee and tea lovers. Still it’s nt what you have to go through with worrying about calories. Keep up the good fight.

    • Thanks Emily. I have no had any coffee for nearly 2 months and I don’t miss it now – but before I couldn’t function without 2 cups first thing in the morning!

  5. I always thought it just came down to willpower but the book, The End to Overeating by David Kessler provides amazing insight into the science behind cravings and addictions. I love how he explained to not even entertain the idea of the craving. Once you consider it, it’s over. He advised to imagine a giant STOP sign anytime you crave something, and distract yourself.

  6. I try to control cravings by experimenting its substitutes. I was a chocolate addict, intensely craving anything chocolatey. Lucky cacao is still within my diet but sugars are not. Surprisingly, my favourite substitutes are apple slices with almond butter for a texture craving, and date rolls for a sugar high (just mashed dates rolled in shredded unsweetened coconut). Both of which I can’t eat much of (palate doesn’t allow for more than half an apple or one date roll) so I still keep calories and sugar/fat under control

  7. Distraction tends to work with cravings too. Finding something else to do and telling yourself you are not saying no. Just not right now. If you ca. Out it off for fifteen minutes the craving is usually gone anyway…until the next one 🙂

    • I like that approach, not NO but not right now. It means you are not depriving yourself forever. I am going through this process regarding alcohol. Part of me wants to give it up completely nut another part is saying whilst I am trying to make this lifestyle change and lose the weight I won’t have it, when I get to where I need to be then I will reassess and see whether it would be feasible to introduce in small quantities. My concern is my addictive personality and whether it will be confined to small quantities…I think each person has to develop their own way to deal with the cravings. What works for one person may not work for another – it really is an interesting psychological debate 🙂

  8. It isn’t helping you to make foods taboo and to control things and try to avoid them. You are creating a major deprivation state that will most likely culminate in a binge. Try to change your relationship to food. Look at food as nourishing or not. Is that sugar fix nourishing? Why are you craving it? Is it the food or the memories it provides? Ask yourself questions and you will find the answers very rarely are about the food itself. Your body wants healthy food. Not junk. Your mind is a different story.

    • I think every person needs to find their own way to deal with their cravings. The reason I crave the Haribo is not because my body is crying out for a sugar fix or the good memories that it invokes, I think I crave it because I enjoy it and gain comfort from it. For me the comfort of eating Haribo is outweighed by the comfort I get from knowing that I am attaining a healthier body by not having them. I make it into a decision making process and analyse the consequences of eating it. If I give in to my cravings then I will be further away from my goal, if I don’t I will be closer. If you analyse the situation and ask yourself which you want more then your answer will manage the mental issue of the craving. Of course the best approach to craving is all subjective and based on each individual’s personality. What works for one person may not work for another.

      • Absolutely. That is pretty much what I said. You have to decide why you are craving the food. For comfort. But when you do have your goal in mind I think it’s important not to create a deprivation state which makes you what the food more. Making a food taboo sometimes or most times makes you want it more. I wish you all the best on your journey!

  9. Nice one. I crave for a lot of things. Everything sweet!!! Mine was crazy.. chocolates, ice cream, Biscuit.. just everything sweet, its really terrible apart from the weight loss ish its just not good for general well-being. well, thats under control now
    I have cut down on a lot of things and I don’t miss them at all. I love what you pointed out: thinking about the set back to the progress. That’s help me too.
    keep up with the journey, you are on the right path.

    • Throughout the last 2 months, whenever I have felt weak I have just focused on my end goal and the immense feeling of success 🙂 I am going to be very very proud of my accomplishment 🙂

  10. You’re awesome David! I looked back through your journey and you are truly an inspiration to all! WOW, you’re kicking butt!

    • Thank you for your kind words, I have enjoyed kicking butt and sharing my journey with people, listening to and taking their advice – it has been a great motivational tool 🙂

  11. Strangely I haven’t been craving any specific food, but only the actual act of eating. I am used to snacking a lot and I really miss having things in my mouth now that I am restricted to eating 5 times a day. I guess it’s part of re-educating my body.

  12. I recommend you download an app like MyFitnessPal. You can enter your weight loss goals and then record what you eat and the calories you burn through exercise. You can let yourself have treats like Haribo by first burning off the calories to offset what you eat. Generally, I now don’t keep snack food in the house or at work. I buy it for immediate consumption at times when I’ve earned it, or occasionally when I decide to have a “cheat” day- no more than one of those a week, though! Good luck with your journey. It looks like you’re doing well…

Leave a Reply

