Day 106 & 107 – The Storm Arrived

The beginning of the week has been full on, my job kicked up another gear to test my patience alongside the increase in intensity of my training. It is a real struggle to fit everything into the day and get the sufficient amount of sleep but I wouldn’t have it any other way. Being constantly on the go, striving to achieve your goals is a real motivator. It is a great feeling to look back at what you have achieved every day and think ‘wow – did I manage to do all that!’ I have said it many times before but hard work really is the reward in itself. If you are going to achieve something that you have never done before then you are going to have to do something that you have never done before. For the last two years I have worked most nights on completing assignments for my MBA, it was brutally tough at times but it was so worth it. I achieved something that was the result of my hard work and dedication and I am applying the same level of discipline to myself. This is something that I have never done before and as a result I have never been happy and healthy. I am doing this now though and I am extremely pleased with the results and how far I have come in such a short period of time. I know that if I carry on like this that my end goal is a matter of months away.

I completed a 4 mile run on Monday night after a great stretching session and followed that up with my new strength training program on Tuesday. I am on track but I am tired and need to focus on time management further to see how I can complete all my tasks in the day. I have thought about getting up really early say 5:00 am to crack on with my paperwork as I am not great at training in the morning due to becoming dehydrated during the night. This will enable me to be at work by 8:00 am and home by 18:30 so all I have to do is train and prepare my juice/breakfast/lunch for the day ahead which means I should be ready for rest/relaxation/bed by 21:00. Does anyone have any good suggestions for effective time management when working long hours?

The Feeling of Success - Daily Diary - Storm

14 responses to “Day 106 & 107 – The Storm Arrived

  1. Your idea is good, however in my personal experience training at night is not so good, you are tired for the whole day plus you are not in the correct biorhythm. I would try to train in the morning anyway, you can work on dehydration too or during lunch break (if you have any, when working long hours it is better to have it). What do you think?

    • I think the general consensus is to train in the morning. I don’t get an ‘official’ lunch hour (I am a contractor!) so I don’t have time in the day which is a shame because it would split the day up nicely. I think to work out in the mornings I am going to have to make sure I work out a plan for staying hydrated through the night.

  2. I get up at 3:30 and try to get home by 3:00ish to run. I prefer to run in the afternoon if possible and then have the evening off. It does make for a long day though. Good luck figuring this out!

    • I would like to get up early, which is fine now but as soon as the Kazakh winter sets in I am going to have to train inside and the gym I have highlighted to join doesn’t open anywhere near early enough. It is quite the dilemma…

  3. It sounds like you have an idea already on a schedule that would work best for you. It sounds good to me, especially if you’re willing to stay committed and true to your goals! 🙂

  4. It is hard when there is such a busy schedule, however you understand the needs of your work, your study and your body, so whatever works for you. I prefer to exercise early morning, however when I have studying to do I like early mornings for that too as I am fresh then.

  5. Hi there David,
    Thanks for checking out my somewhat inexperienced blog! 😀 I am so glad to connect with you, it’s great that you have stayed motivated all this time. There is hope for me yet! Look forward to reading about your journey.
    YM

  6. I firmly believe that working out in the first thing in the morning is the best decision of my life, I have so much energy and positivity which carries on to my school and social life. It has gotten me out of depression, increased my productivity and really done amazing things. Do a lot of mixing and matching, find what works for you is what really matters at the end of the day. Do not be confined to a set program or regime, that is where you put limits to your true potential. Remember, friend: you have what it takes. Peace and good luck on your journey (:

Leave a Reply

